Print

Print


One correction to this discussion:  if the robot is rescued *while* pushing the ambulance, then the ambulance is Cargo, since it's being transported by the robot (Rule 13, Cargo) and it's prior to release of the ambulance.
 
Rule 31, Touch Penalty, discusses what happens to Cargo items when this happens.  In the case that the Ambulance didn't come out of Base with the robot, then the Ambulance would be taken off the field.
 
 
As Sonya said, in response to the original question, once the robot leaves the Ambulance or other object on the field, it stays where it is (Rule 33, bullet 2 -- Cargo the robot loses contact with is left wherever it comes to rest), until the robot moves it again later.
 
Rescuing the robot is allowed by the rules (even though there is a scoring penalty).  There are no consequences to rescuing the robot other than those described in Rule 31 (although thre are some clarifications in rules 25, 16, 26


On Tue, Oct 8, 2013 at 10:26 AM, Bdh612-ess <[log in to unmask]> wrote:
In addition, if the robot were to pick the ambulance up, it'd be cargo, so if the robot needed rescuing while carrying it, the ref would have to remove it from the field. If the robot is rescued while still pushing the ambulance into the yellow zone, then it stays where the robot left it. As Sonya said, its position at the end of the match is all that matters.

Sent from my iPhone

On Oct 8, 2013, at 10:12 AM, Sonya Shaver <[log in to unmask]> wrote:

Hi Kumar,
As long as the ambulance is IN the yellow region, and as long as all the ambulance's wheels are touching the mat at the END of the match, then yes, you will get points for the ambulance.  Those are the conditions that need to be present at the end of the match to get the points for the ambulance.  If the robot gets stuck somewhere else on the field, or if the team has to pick it up to get it back for the next mission, then that is a totally separate issue and is subject to whatever other related rules and penalties based on whatever happened (i.e. touch penalty, etc.).

Hope that helps!
Sonya Shaver
FLL coach





On Tue, Oct 8, 2013 at 9:35 AM, Jayakumar Dwarakadas <[log in to unmask]> wrote:
Assume Robot completes pushing Ambulance to Yellow Zone but while coming back to the base, it is stuck or flips over and unable to come back to the base.

In this scenario, how is the score calculated.? Will we get score for pushing the Ambulance to Yellow zone.?

Thanks,
Kumar.

To UNSUBSCRIBE or CHANGE your settings, please visit https://listserv.jmu.edu/archives/vadcfll-l.html and select "Join or leave the list".
VADCFLL administrative announcements are sent via VADCFLL-ANNOUNCEMENTS-L. Visit https://listserv.jmu.edu/archives/vadcfll-announcements-l.html to subscribe.


To UNSUBSCRIBE or CHANGE your settings, please visit https://listserv.jmu.edu/archives/vadcfll-l.html and select "Join or leave the list".
VADCFLL administrative announcements are sent via VADCFLL-ANNOUNCEMENTS-L. Visit https://listserv.jmu.edu/archives/vadcfll-announcements-l.html to subscribe.

To UNSUBSCRIBE or CHANGE your settings, please visit https://listserv.jmu.edu/archives/vadcfll-l.html and select "Join or leave the list".
VADCFLL administrative announcements are sent via VADCFLL-ANNOUNCEMENTS-L. Visit https://listserv.jmu.edu/archives/vadcfll-announcements-l.html to subscribe.


To UNSUBSCRIBE or CHANGE your settings, please visit https://listserv.jmu.edu/archives/vadcfll-l.html and select "Join or leave the list".
VADCFLL administrative announcements are sent via VADCFLL-ANNOUNCEMENTS-L. Visit https://listserv.jmu.edu/archives/vadcfll-announcements-l.html to subscribe.