Question from a rookie coach:When the robot returns to Base between missions, does it need to be 'completely' in Base? Is there a penalty if a part of it is outside of Base?Thank you!Sravanthi
On Oct 15, 2013, at 10:31 PM, Jill Hamilton <[log in to unmask]> wrote:
Dale, you can pick up the robot and carry it back to the base at any time, but you will receive a touch penalty (rule 31). This will cost you points in the end and can sometime be a strategy. You could also design your missions in sequence so that your robot never returns to base. This is generally harder for a beginner team, but it does save time and can garner more points. You can always touch the robot in base without penalty.
Coach of the Mechanical Manatees #9570
Coach of the Electric Pineapples in years past
We're a complete rookie team here ! I've read the rules, but don't quite understand.
Does the robot have to drive itself back to base to be reset for the next mission or can it stop in the field and be carried (by hand) back to base?
Thanks so much for everyone's help - reading all the questions and answers is inspiring!
Dale S. Glass, MS, MSSE
NOAA Climate Steward
National Presbyterian School
4121 Nebraska Ave, NW
Washington, DC 20016
[log in to unmask]