As Fredrik noted, Rule 2 also clearly allows that. Rule 8 is just a restatement, so that you can be sure.So your team may do each of the parts of the Engagement mission whenever they choose to.Also, Rule 8 says that your team can usually choose to do things in any order:(The first bullet of Rule 35 says that Stored Objects are things that the team may handle, and include anything in Base.)That's right--in fact Rule 35 explicitly says that the team members can handle objects in Base:35 - Storage
- You may at any time handle stored objects the robot is not interacting with, including the placement of objects (completely in Base) for the robot to interact with during an autonomous period.
8 - Mission - A mission requirement is a condition the robot produces for points, sometimes in a certain way.
-- You decide the order in which to try the missions, and how many to try with each software program.
VA-DC FLL Referee AdvisorOn Thu, Oct 16, 2014 at 5:32 PM, Fredrik Nyman <[log in to unmask]> wrote:Nothing in the rules say you can't do that, so yes, sure thing. (I'm willing to bet that most teams solve the Project-Based Learning mission exactly that way too).On Thu, Oct 16, 2014 at 5:24 PM, Parvathy Krishnan <[log in to unmask]> wrote:Good point. Related question from another rookie coach. Can you pick up the loops, bring them to base, hang them by hand on another attachment and send the robot on a run to transfer the loops to PBL model?ThanksParvathy
Sent from my iPhone
On Oct 16, 2014, at 4:26 PM, Haitao Fan <[log in to unmask]> wrote:Engage first, or else the pin does not move even if your turn the wheel.On Thu, Oct 16, 2014 at 3:33 PM, Fredrik Nyman <[log in to unmask]> wrote:Not dumb at all. Golden rule: if the rules don't say you can't do X, you can do X.Helpful reminder: for scoring, it is the field condition at the end of the match that counts.So: engagement: yes, you can engage and then do other things and then spin the wheel. Or don't spin the wheel at all if you don't want to, you get 20 points just for engaging.Loops: yes, you can pick up as many loops as you want and put them on the PBL model all at once when you're done picking them up. Or do it piecemeal. Doesn't matter, only thing that matters is how many loops hang on the PBL model at the end of the match.
On Thursday, October 16, 2014, Hal Swetnam <[log in to unmask]> wrote:Rookie coach and rookie team alert! Sorry if these seem like dumb questions.
For the Engagement Mission, can the gear engagement be done at one point during the match and the turning of the pinwheel at another? In other words, do they have to be done one right after the other?
For the Project Based Learning Mission, can you go throughout the match and add loops? Also, can you use loops you picked up during the match at other missions?
Thanks a million
To UNSUBSCRIBE or CHANGE your settings, please visit https://listserv.jmu.edu/archives/vadcfll-l.html and select "Join or leave the list".
VADCFLL administrative announcements are sent via VADCFLL-ANNOUNCEMENTS-L. Visit https://listserv.jmu.edu/archives/vadcfll-announcements-l.html to subscribe.