Print

Print


Great question!

I agree with Charlie that the clause should be considered as applying to
the visible end condition.

I do consider the robot to be a team-supplied object, although it isn't a
strategic object.  Robot attachments are also team-supplied, even when they
are not attached or in use.  This is based on the plain English
understanding of the term.

Since it is not believable that the robotics insert could be both (a)
placed in the model without ever touching a team-supplied object, and (b)
only be moved by robot action, Rule 5 says to accept the most sensible
interpretation beneficial to the team.

Also, for reference, note that in the Thinking Outside the Box mission,
it's very clearly stated that the constraint is that "The box model was
never in Base."  Since the Robotics Competition mission does not use words
like "ever" or "never" or "always", we shouldn't add them in if the
interpretation would be (fairly) clear without them.

Steve Scherr
VA-DC FLL Referee Advisor

On Sun, Oct 19, 2014 at 11:09 PM, Charles Diaz Aldridge <
[log in to unmask]> wrote:

> You are certainly on the right track reading the materials closely.  I
> strongly suspect the clause in question would be better placed under
> "Required condition visible at the end of the match".
>
> Regarding the definition of "team supplied" -- Rule 14 - Strategic Objects
> states: Strategic objects are team-supplied objects, either handled by you,
> in Base, or handled and abandoned by the robot (wherever) by design.  Robot
> is defined separately in Rule 12 and Attachments are also separately
> defined in Rule 13.  Therefore I do not believe "robot" or "attachment" are
> subsumed in the reference to "team supplied."  Team supplied strategic
> objects usually means something like a crate or basket that the team
> created to confine the scoring object for delivery.
>
> I look forward to our Head Referee's definitive answer since my view is
> speculation.
>
> -Charlie
>
> On Oct 19, 2014, at 9:30 PM, Heather Gavin <[log in to unmask]>
> wrote:
>
> The constraint on this mission says “No team supplied object is touching
> the robotics insert”. Do we assume that this means “never” and if not, then
> when?
>
>
>
> We’re rookies and are trying to understand  “team supplied” which seems
> like both the robot and an attachment? Can we use an attachment (which I
> guess is “team supplied”) to get the “insert” to the mission? Or is this
> saying that whatever touches the insert has to be a permanent part of the
> robot?
>
> Thank you,
>
> Heather Gavin
>
> The Wise Guys, Tuckahoe Elementary
> ------------------------------
> To UNSUBSCRIBE or CHANGE your settings, please visit
> https://listserv.jmu.edu/archives/vadcfll-l.html and select "Join or
> leave the list".
> VADCFLL administrative announcements are sent via VADCFLL-ANNOUNCEMENTS-L.
> Visit https://listserv.jmu.edu/archives/vadcfll-announcements-l.html to
> subscribe.
>
> ------------------------------
> To UNSUBSCRIBE or CHANGE your settings, please visit
> https://listserv.jmu.edu/archives/vadcfll-l.html and select "Join or
> leave the list".
> VADCFLL administrative announcements are sent via VADCFLL-ANNOUNCEMENTS-L.
> Visit https://listserv.jmu.edu/archives/vadcfll-announcements-l.html to
> subscribe.
>

-- To UNSUBSCRIBE or CHANGE your settings, please visit https://listserv.jmu.edu/archives/vadcfll-l.html and select "Join or leave the list".

-- VADCFLL administrative announcements are sent via VADCFLL-ANNOUNCEMENTS-L. Visit https://listserv.jmu.edu/archives/vadcfll-ANNOUNCEMENTS-l.html to subscribe.