Print

Print


And it is perfectly fine for the team to ask the referee to show them that
the bulb side is facing south.

Steve Scherr
VA-DC FLL Referee Advisor

On Mon, Nov 10, 2014 at 9:28 PM, Fredrik Nyman <[log in to unmask]>
wrote:

> If the field is correctly set up, the bulb will face south.
> (Rules page 9, Mission Model Arrangement and Setup, description of Box
> model).
>
> The team may ask the referee to double-check that models are correctly set
> up (rule 37), but themselves they may only inspect the field visually (rule
> 36).
>
>
> On Monday, November 10, 2014, Tchow222 <[log in to unmask]> wrote:
>
>> Can the children check the box to make sure the lightbulb is facing a
>> certain direction inside the box before the round starts?
>>
>> Nancy Nguyen
>> -Sent from my iPad
>>
>> On Nov 10, 2014, at 3:54 PM, Stephen Scherr <[log in to unmask]> wrote:
>>
>> Let me provide an official response to Antony's question:
>>
>> He asks: if the robot grabs the black reverse engineering basket
>> containing the original reverse engineering model and gets stuck outside
>> Base carrying the basket back to Base, can the team rescue the robot and
>> get a Robot Penalty?  The answer is Yes.  (Rules 43, 42, 26)
>>
>> In addition, he asks--what happens to the basket with the original
>> reverse engineering model?
>> A)  does it go to Base with the Robot?  (No)
>> B)  does it get left on the field at the spot of the touch?  (No)
>> C)  does it get reset to its original position (No)
>>
>> the correct result is
>> D)  The basket and contents are removed by the referee from the field,
>> and taken out of play.  No points can be earned for the Reverse Engineering
>> mission when this happens.
>>
>> Why?
>> As Fredrik noted, since the robot is moving the basket, then the basket
>> is Cargo (Rule 16)
>> When you touch the robot and it has Cargo completely outside Base, then
>> there is a Cargo Penalty (Rule 44).  The penalty is that you lose the Cargo
>> that your robot picked up outside Base.
>>
>>
>> Analysis--
>> Is this a bad thing?  Your team has two choices--
>> 1)  it may leave the robot where it is and not score any more points.
>> 2)  it may rescue the robot and try to score more points.
>> Either way, the team doesn't score any points for Reverse Engineering, so
>> that shouldn't be a factor in deciding whether to rescue the robot or not.
>>
>> Bottom line--your team gets three chances to earn its best single match
>> score.  That's all that counts.  Doing poorly in one match is okay, if it
>> allows you to learn and try stuff that helps you to earn more points in a
>> later match.
>> Our goal is for the teams to show us what they can do.  Not having the
>> robot do anything is only okay when the team doesn't have anything else
>> that it can do.
>>
>> Steve Scherr
>> VA-DC FLL Referee Advisor
>> ------------------------------
>>
>>

-- To UNSUBSCRIBE or CHANGE your settings, please visit https://listserv.jmu.edu/archives/vadcfll-l.html and select "Join or leave the list".

-- VADCFLL administrative announcements are sent via VADCFLL-ANNOUNCEMENTS-L. Visit https://listserv.jmu.edu/archives/vadcfll-ANNOUNCEMENTS-l.html to subscribe.