Print

Print


And it is perfectly fine for the team to ask the referee to show them that the bulb side is facing south.

Steve Scherr
VA-DC FLL Referee Advisor

On Mon, Nov 10, 2014 at 9:28 PM, Fredrik Nyman <[log in to unmask]> wrote:
If the field is correctly set up, the bulb will face south.
(Rules page 9, Mission Model Arrangement and Setup, description of Box model).

The team may ask the referee to double-check that models are correctly set up (rule 37), but themselves they may only inspect the field visually (rule 36).


On Monday, November 10, 2014, Tchow222 <[log in to unmask]> wrote:
Can the children check the box to make sure the lightbulb is facing a certain direction inside the box before the round starts?

Nancy Nguyen
-Sent from my iPad

On Nov 10, 2014, at 3:54 PM, Stephen Scherr <[log in to unmask]> wrote:

Let me provide an official response to Antony's question:

He asks: if the robot grabs the black reverse engineering basket containing the original reverse engineering model and gets stuck outside Base carrying the basket back to Base, can the team rescue the robot and get a Robot Penalty?  The answer is Yes.  (Rules 43, 42, 26)

In addition, he asks--what happens to the basket with the original reverse engineering model?
A)  does it go to Base with the Robot?  (No)
B)  does it get left on the field at the spot of the touch?  (No)
C)  does it get reset to its original position (No)

the correct result is
D)  The basket and contents are removed by the referee from the field, and taken out of play.  No points can be earned for the Reverse Engineering mission when this happens.

Why?
As Fredrik noted, since the robot is moving the basket, then the basket is Cargo (Rule 16)
When you touch the robot and it has Cargo completely outside Base, then there is a Cargo Penalty (Rule 44).  The penalty is that you lose the Cargo that your robot picked up outside Base.


Analysis--
Is this a bad thing?  Your team has two choices--
1)  it may leave the robot where it is and not score any more points.
2)  it may rescue the robot and try to score more points.
Either way, the team doesn't score any points for Reverse Engineering, so that shouldn't be a factor in deciding whether to rescue the robot or not.

Bottom line--your team gets three chances to earn its best single match score.  That's all that counts.  Doing poorly in one match is okay, if it allows you to learn and try stuff that helps you to earn more points in a later match.
Our goal is for the teams to show us what they can do.  Not having the robot do anything is only okay when the team doesn't have anything else that it can do.

Steve Scherr
VA-DC FLL Referee Advisor



To UNSUBSCRIBE or CHANGE your settings, please visit https://listserv.jmu.edu/archives/vadcfll-l.html and select "Join or leave the list".
VADCFLL administrative announcements are sent via VADCFLL-ANNOUNCEMENTS-L. Visit https://listserv.jmu.edu/archives/vadcfll-announcements-l.html to subscribe.