The mission does not restrict whether the ball ends up in the net on the fly, or after a bounce.

On Monday, November 3, 2014, Rosa Rodriguez-Finch <[log in to unmask]> wrote:
A follow-up question to this mission. Can the ball be dropped into the goal or does it have to bounce over the obstacle?

On Nov 3, 2014, at 1:29 PM, Stephen Scherr wrote:

As was described here, the shot would not count for mission points.

If the loop is attached to the robot, then it is part of the robot (Rule 12).  The Sports mission requires that all equipment involved with the shot is completely inside the shot lines.  The robot is involved with the shot, so the entire robot must be east/north of the shot lines.  That includes anything attachments joined to it, even if that attachment is not otherwise being used in the shot.

Steve Scherr
VA-DC FLL Referee Advisor

On Mon, Nov 3, 2014 at 11:40 AM, Saji Sukumaran <[log in to unmask]');" target="_blank">[log in to unmask]> wrote:
Not sure if this was answered earlier.
we have a robot with an attachment in the front that carries a loop (from previous mission). But that attachment is not involved in the throwing of the ball. An attachment behind the robot coupled to a different motor acts as a catapult to release the ball. But the issue is that the ball will fall into the goal only if the front part of the robot that is not involved with the throwing is outside the shot line. Is this allowed?
As per the rule
All equipment involved with the shot was completely east/north of the “Shot Lines” while sending the ball to the net. So does this incllude the whole robot with all the attachements, or is it just the robot with the throwing arm?
I woud really like help getting this clarified.
Saji Sukumaran
Cascades Thunderbots

To UNSUBSCRIBE or CHANGE your settings, please visit and select "Join or leave the list".
VADCFLL administrative announcements are sent via VADCFLL-ANNOUNCEMENTS-L. Visit to subscribe.