Print

Print


Very true. Rule 39 and Rule 11 go together.

We have seen teams recently that were not aware that the inside surface of the border walls defines the south and west boundaries of the base. If you are just slightly outside base then Rule 3, Benefit of the Doubt, can be invoked, but a better strategy is to be fully compliant to the rules.

11 - Base - Base is an imaginary box formed by vertical walls that rise from the perimeter of the Base area, including the inside surface of the border walls, and by an invisible ceiling 12" (30cm) high.
  • This means Base is not just an area on the mat - it’s a VOLUME.
  • The lines that define Base count as part of Base.
  • Usually there is a gap between the mat and a side border wall...
  • Base includes this gap (pictured in red)

On Tue, Nov 18, 2014 at 3:24 PM, Fredrik Nyman <[log in to unmask]> wrote:
Rule 11 is also helpful.  It points out that the base isn't an area as much as it's an invisible box (volume) that everything must fit inside.



On Tue, Nov 18, 2014 at 3:21 PM, Robot Bill <[log in to unmask]> wrote:
Short answer is no.

Long answer is see rule 39 bullet #1.

http://www.firstlegoleague.org/sites/default/files/Challenge/FLL_WORLD_CLASS/FLL-WORLD-CLASS-Challenge-FINAL-v2.pdf

39 - Start/Restart Position - For the match start and all restarts:
  • EVERY BIT of the robot, including its installed attachments & wires, and everything touching it, and any objects it is about to move or use, must ALL fit COMPLETELY in Base.
  • The ROBOT may be touching objects it is about to move or use, but your HANDS may not.
  • The robot’s program may or may not already be running, but everything must be motionless.
  • If the robot is about to move a mission model from Base, you must be able to pick that model up and have NOTHING come with it (only do this if asked).
  • You may design/use a LEGO frame/“jig” to aim the robot, but its use must be completely in Base at all times, and you must let go of it prior to starting/restarting. You may not mark the mat nor use paper for aiming. (Reference Rules 14, 17,and 40.)


On Tue, Nov 18, 2014 at 3:04 PM, Ralph Grove <[log in to unmask]> wrote:
Hello,

We understand that Robot has to be completely within base boundaries before starting the mission.

Can any of the attachments (connected to the robot) be outside the base-boundary lines if the attachment if NOT touching the board?

Thanks!

-- To UNSUBSCRIBE or CHANGE your settings, please visit https://listserv.jmu.edu/archives/vadcfll-l.html and select "Join or leave the list".

-- VADCFLL administrative announcements are sent via VADCFLL-ANNOUNCEMENTS-L. Visit https://listserv.jmu.edu/archives/vadcfll-ANNOUNCEMENTS-l.html to subscribe.


To UNSUBSCRIBE or CHANGE your settings, please visit https://listserv.jmu.edu/archives/vadcfll-l.html and select "Join or leave the list".
VADCFLL administrative announcements are sent via VADCFLL-ANNOUNCEMENTS-L. Visit https://listserv.jmu.edu/archives/vadcfll-announcements-l.html to subscribe.



To UNSUBSCRIBE or CHANGE your settings, please visit https://listserv.jmu.edu/archives/vadcfll-l.html and select "Join or leave the list".
VADCFLL administrative announcements are sent via VADCFLL-ANNOUNCEMENTS-L. Visit https://listserv.jmu.edu/archives/vadcfll-announcements-l.html to subscribe.