The answer to Chao's question is "no". It doesn't matter whether the yellow bin gets dumped off the truck at the end of the guide or not. This mission doesn't care about the details of what happens in the middle of the match, it only cares about the physical condition of the field when the match ends. For example, what if the yellow bin were dumped off the truck? How could the team get it (and its weight) back on the truck, and have the truck completely east of the guide? What if the robot picked up the bin and loaded it back on the truck? What if the robot moved the truck and bin to some other place where the bin could slide back onto the truck? The robot is allowed to change things during the match. One really fun thing about FLL is to get to a point where you say "this cannot happen" and then to think of how to make it happen some other way. Sometimes it's impractical or really hard, but sometimes you get inspired and figure out something clever and devilishly simple. Steve Scherr Virginia-DC FLL Referee Advisor On Thu, Oct 8, 2015 at 11:14 PM, Chao Wei < [log in to unmask]> wrote: > > ________________________________ > > > I am quite puzzled by "scoring both" for transport In order for the truck > supporting all of the yellow bin's weight AND the yellow bin east of the > guide, it seems that the yellow bin cannot be dumped in the end. Otherwise > we cannot see the truck support all the weight at the end of the match. > > Is my understanding correct? > > Chao > > • Value: 50 The Truck supports all of the Yellow > Bin’s weight. > • Value: 60 The Yellow Bin is completely east of the > Truck’s Guide. > > > > -------------------------------------------- > On Thu, 10/8/15, VA-DC Referee Advisor <[log in to unmask]> wrote: > > Subject: Re: [VADCFLL-L] Transport > To: [log in to unmask] > Date: Thursday, October 8, 2015, 3:43 PM > > The two physical requirements, and the two > scores are independent from each other. The mission says > "Score one or both". > > > > > On Thu, Oct 8, 2015 at > 11:35 AM, Lord Of The Bricks > <[log in to unmask]> > wrote: > > > > I have a question about the transport > mission. The rules state, > > > > > M03 – Transport – The distance a discarded material > may need to travel is an important part of the equation when > deciding > what to do with that material. > ●● Basic Mission Description: Load the all-Yellow > Material Bin onto the Truck to be transported > east/unloaded. > ●● Specific physical requirement, visible at the > end of the match (score one or both): > • Value: 50 The Truck supports all of the Yellow > Bin’s weight. > • Value: 60 The Yellow Bin is completely east of the > Truck’s Guide. > > > > > > > My confusions is that both requirements are > "visible at the end of the match." If You have > gotten the truck east of the guide via the track, then the > yellow bin will have fallen off the truck at the end of the > guide, as designed. How, then, can both > conditions be true at the same time (unless, as my team has > pondered, that we back-track up the guide, and move around > it)? > -- > > > > Shari Robinson > Head Coach > Lord of the Bricks Robotics > FIRST Tech Challenge Team 7039 > FIRST Lego League Team 9076 > Jr. FIRST Lego League Team 933 > > > > lordofthebricks.wildapricot.org > lordofthebricks.webs.com > > -- To UNSUBSCRIBE or CHANGE your settings, please visit https://listserv.jmu.edu/archives/vadcfll-l.html and select "Join or leave the list". -- VADCFLL administrative announcements are sent via VADCFLL-ANNOUNCEMENTS-L. Visit https://listserv.jmu.edu/archives/vadcfll-ANNOUNCEMENTS-l.html to subscribe.