According to the rules, the team may touch/interrupt the robot at any time--but there may be consequences.

A robot not carrying any Mission Models can be interrupted with no Interruption Penalty if the Robot is completely in Safety.  
See R13.

To be re-launched, the Robot (and other stuff) needs to be set up completely in Base.  See R12.  But the team can move it around by hand within the Safety-Base region as part of the setup.

Steve Scherr
Virginia-DC FLL Referee Advisor

On Mon, Nov 2, 2015 at 7:48 AM, Joseph Trombo <[log in to unmask]> wrote:
There was some confusion among the BrickBeast drivers yesterday.

When may they legally touch a robot returning from a mission to start the next mission?

From the rules, it says under interruption (R13) that the field objects must be completely in safety.
But what if a robot isn't carrying anything?
Does the robot have to be completely in safety before it can be grabbed and reset?
Does the robot have to enter safety before being handled and reset? (this is the team's interpretation)
Does the robot have to enter base before being reset?
Does the robot have to be completely in base before being reset?

Amy Trombo
Co-coach Brickbeasts

To UNSUBSCRIBE or CHANGE your settings, please visit and select "Join or leave the list".
VADCFLL administrative announcements are sent via VADCFLL-ANNOUNCEMENTS-L. Visit to subscribe.