Print

Print


1. The robot can end the match anywhere and there is no penalty for that. If it comes to rest at the far end of the mat and your team is done. Leave it there and you're fine. Update 10 made this explicit since the original wording was a bit odd:
"10 - ROBOT DOESN’T HAVE TO “END” ANYWHERE D09 + R14 Clarification (10-12-15)
By D09, the Robot is unable to Strand itself, so it can never count as R14 Junk." 


2. The rules state: 
"Ref will place one Black Bar on the Mat in a convenient out-of- the-way place, not to exceed four Bars. The Ref may shift them out of the Robot’s way as needed, but they must always stay in a negative scoring position."
So the refs should go out of their way to make sure the penalty blocks don't interfere with the robot.

Hope that helps!
Shumway

> On Nov 11, 2015, at 7:43 PM, Chao Wei <[log in to unmask]> wrote:
> 
> Hi Steve,
> 
> Just to clarify on the junk penalty issue:
> 
> 1. If we do not interrupt a robot, and it fails to come back to the safety at the end of the match, will they be penalty?
> 
> 2. You mentioned that the referee can put the penalty anywhere on the mat, are there any rules guiding where he or she would put it? So it is up to luck whether the penalty is put at a place that makes some missions impossible according to pre-set programs?
> 
> Thanks!
> 
> Chao
> 
> --------------------------------------------
> On Wed, 11/11/15, VA-DC Referee Advisor <[log in to unmask]> wrote:
> 
> Subject: Re: [VADCFLL-L] Interruption and Junk penalty points
> To: [log in to unmask]
> Date: Wednesday, November 11, 2015, 12:11 PM
> 
> There is
> no Junk Penalty on a mission Model like the white Plastic
> Bags.  Mission Models may be stranded anywhere out in the
> field with no Penalty.
> The
> Interruption and Junk Penalties are assessed by taking one
> of the referee's Black Bars and placing it on the mat. 
> The point value for that is determined by mission M04.  The
> score for each penalty Black Bar is -8.  (As others have
> noted, this results in a net change of -16 in the score,
> since the bar would have been worth +8 before the
> Penalty,)
> Steve
> ScherrVirginia-DC FLL Referee
> Advisor
> On Wed, Nov 11, 2015 at
> 11:50 AM, Shashi Goli <[log in to unmask]>
> wrote:
> All,        I didn't
> see Robot Interruption and Junk penalty points anywhere
> mentioned.
> How many points are charged for each robot
> interruption if it is stranded outside the safety area while
> running and how many points for something such as leaving a
> plastic bag or something outside the safety area after end
> of mission
> ? Thanks,Shashi
> To UNSUBSCRIBE or CHANGE your settings, please visit
> 
> https://listserv.jmu.edu/archives/vadcfll-l.html and
> select "Join or leave the list".
> 
> VADCFLL administrative announcements are
> sent via VADCFLL-ANNOUNCEMENTS-L. Visit https://listserv.jmu.edu/archives/vadcfll-announcements-l.html
> to subscribe.
> 
> To UNSUBSCRIBE or CHANGE your settings, please visit
> 
> https://listserv.jmu.edu/archives/vadcfll-l.html and
> select "Join or leave the list".
> 
> VADCFLL administrative announcements are
> sent via VADCFLL-ANNOUNCEMENTS-L. Visit https://listserv.jmu.edu/archives/vadcfll-announcements-l.html
> to subscribe.
> 
> -- To UNSUBSCRIBE or CHANGE your settings, please visit https://listserv.jmu.edu/archives/vadcfll-l.html and select "Join or leave the list".
> 
> -- VADCFLL administrative announcements are sent via VADCFLL-ANNOUNCEMENTS-L. Visit https://listserv.jmu.edu/archives/vadcfll-ANNOUNCEMENTS-l.html to subscribe.

-- To UNSUBSCRIBE or CHANGE your settings, please visit https://listserv.jmu.edu/archives/vadcfll-l.html and select "Join or leave the list".

-- VADCFLL administrative announcements are sent via VADCFLL-ANNOUNCEMENTS-L. Visit https://listserv.jmu.edu/archives/vadcfll-ANNOUNCEMENTS-l.html to subscribe.