No, it doesn't HAVE to maneuver back to base.
IF the team wants to launch it again, they can pick it up (rule 10) and bring it back to base, taking one penalty (rule 14).
IF it's the end of the match (time is running out), they must leave it in place (rule 18).
To UNSUBSCRIBE or CHANGE your settings, please visit
https://listserv.jmu.edu/archives/vadcfll-l.html and select "Join or leave the list".
VADCFLL administrative announcements are sent via VADCFLL-ANNOUNCEMENTS-L. Visit https://listserv.jmu.edu/archives/vadcfll-announcements-l.html to subscribe.