Print

Print


My read of the mission is the same as Frank's. The important word here to me is "because". 
  • More: The Fence must be down because the Robot completely crossed it from the west, after traveling between the Barriers: Y/N 

    If you pulled it down from the East then it is not "down because the robot completely traveled over it from the west." Also before doing that at some point you must have traveled through the barriers.  Possible to do but not sure why you would do so and not take down the fence. 


Sent from my iPhone

On Sep 13, 2016, at 12:50 PM, Frank Levine <[log in to unmask]> wrote:

Disclaimer - I'm just a coach.  I'm not a referee, and my answer may be wrong.  That said, I know that the referees monitor this e-mail list.  The wording of this mission confused me too, and I think that discussing things like this give the referees a heads up on which missions are likely to have 'interesting' interpretations.

On Tue, Sep 13, 2016 at 12:12 PM, Nanda Kottury <[log in to unmask]> wrote:
Hello,
We are a rookie team. Reading through the requirements  “Drive past the visually impaired man, and the dog will do her job”

Driving past the man is technically not a scoring requirement (though you'll have to do it anyway)


More: “Fence must be down because the robot completely crossed it from west, after travelling between the barriers  : Y/N

I see that the road goes from west to  east. A couple of questions:

1.      Does the robot have to move from west to east to pull warning fence down ?

The fence has to be down because the robot pushed/pulled it down in the process of going from the east side of the fence to the west side.  I had some questions about this one too, and was told to use a common-sense approach here.

My take is:  You don't have to use the robot motion (like a bulldozer) to push the fence down.  If your team uses an attachment to push the fence down, and then crosses it, I believe that still scores.  You can use the bulldozer approach, but it's not mandated by the wording of the mission.

 
2.      Can the team come up with some creative way to pull the fence down other than travelling from west to east ? If so, do we get points

No - crossing from west to east is specified in the mission, and if the fence is down for any other reason you don't get points. 
 
3.      Do we get more points,  only if we cross from west to east ? If not, we will get 15 points ??

15 points for the fence being down because you crossed from west to east... that's it.
 

Please advise

-- To UNSUBSCRIBE or CHANGE your settings, please visit https://listserv.jmu.edu/archives/vadcfll-l.html and select "Join or leave the list".

-- VADCFLL administrative announcements are sent via VADCFLL-ANNOUNCEMENTS-L. Visit https://listserv.jmu.edu/archives/vadcfll-ANNOUNCEMENTS-l.html to subscribe.


To UNSUBSCRIBE or CHANGE your settings, please visit https://listserv.jmu.edu/archives/vadcfll-l.html and select "Join or leave the list".
VADCFLL administrative announcements are sent via VADCFLL-ANNOUNCEMENTS-L. Visit https://listserv.jmu.edu/archives/vadcfll-announcements-l.html to subscribe.

To UNSUBSCRIBE or CHANGE your settings, please visit https://listserv.jmu.edu/archives/vadcfll-l.html and select "Join or leave the list".
VADCFLL administrative announcements are sent via VADCFLL-ANNOUNCEMENTS-L. Visit https://listserv.jmu.edu/archives/vadcfll-announcements-l.html to subscribe.