Print

Print


Our team has couple of questions related to M11.

1.  If we bring the pig to the base and attach the prosthesis by hand and leave it in the base, would this get us points?

2. If we bring the pig to the base and attach the prosthesis by hand but deliver it to the feeding area instead of farm. Would this get us points?


Thanks,

Christina

________________________________
From: First Lego League in Virginia and DC <[log in to unmask]> on behalf of VA-DC Referee Advisor <[log in to unmask]>
Sent: Saturday, October 1, 2016 9:51 PM
To: [log in to unmask]
Subject: Re: [VADCFLL-L] Mission – M11 Prosthesis Clarification:

M11, Prosthesis, does not require the team Technicians to attach the Prosthesis to the Pet in Base, but that is definitely allowable as noted earlier.

If a team wanted to design a robot to take the Prosthesis into the Field, pick up the Pet and then attach the Prosthesis all under program control, it would be allowable, too.  It would also be amazing!

Nevertheless, speaking unofficially, I expect that pretty much every team competing in a tournament this year will try to bring the Pet back to Base...

Steve Scherr
Virginia-DC FLL Referee Advisor

On Sat, Oct 1, 2016 at 5:40 PM, David Kane <[log in to unmask]<mailto:[log in to unmask]>> wrote:
So then the idea for M11, is that the robot retrieves the pet, and gets it into the Base.  The kids then attach the Prosthesis to the pet while it is in the base.  Is that correct?

---- On Wed, 14 Sep 2016 01:05:47 -0400Stephen Scherr wrote ----

Yes, the team is allowed to attach the Prosthesis to the Pet inside Base.
1)  R10, Handling During the Match, disallows touching anything (except the robot) that is outside of Base.  There is no rule that disallows handling objects that are completely inside Base (or Storage), so that is allowed (GP2).

2)  Normally the team would not be allowed to attach the Prosthesis to the Pet (R11), --but-- Mission M11 requires it.  By rule GP5, Information Superiority, the Missions can override the Rules, so attaching the Prosthesis is allowed.

As Todd noted, the Referee may take the Pet/Prosthesis combination out of play because of R14, Interrupting.  If that happens, then the team will not score any points for M11.

Steve Scherr
Virginia-DC FLL Referee Advisor

On Mon, Sep 12, 2016 at 1:17 PM, Nanda Kottury <[log in to unmask]<mailto:[log in to unmask]>> wrote:
Hello,
We are a rookie team.

Reading through the mission statement – The prosthesis is fitted to the pet AND not held by the Ref. (Referee).
a.      What does this mean ? Does this mean team is allowed to fit the prosthesis at the base and deliver to the farm target ? If so, what is the significance of the statement “not held by the Ref. “

Please advise

________________________________
To UNSUBSCRIBE or CHANGE your settings, please visit https://listserv.jmu.edu/archives/vadcfll-l.html and select "Join or leave the list".
VADCFLL administrative announcements are sent via VADCFLL-ANNOUNCEMENTS-L. Visit https://listserv.jmu.edu/archives/vadcfll-announcements-l.html to subscribe.

-- To UNSUBSCRIBE or CHANGE your settings, please visit https://listserv.jmu.edu/archives/vadcfll-l.html and select "Join or leave the list".

-- VADCFLL administrative announcements are sent via VADCFLL-ANNOUNCEMENTS-L. Visit https://listserv.jmu.edu/archives/vadcfll-ANNOUNCEMENTS-l.html to subscribe.