Print

Print


I believe that in the above case, you will not be awarded points for
bringing a model back to base. For e.g. your robot hooks up the broken pipe
but cannot get back to base.
Is my understanding correct?

-Dinesh
On Thu, Oct 26, 2017 at 4:02 PM VA-DC Referee Advisor <[log in to unmask]>
wrote:

>   Todd has a good comment.  If your team prepares the referee to know if
> there is something in particular to look for, or some action that they want
> him or her to take, then they have a better chance of success.
>
>   Just as your team wants to engineer your robot to reduce variability,
> your team can also "engineer" the referee to reduce variability :-)   [at
> least, that's what I call it!]
>
>
>   R14 (plus Update 1) is the rule on Interrupting the robot.  Remember
> that the robot may continue doing things after it is brought back to Base,
> but it needs to meet all the conditions for a Launch (R13) in order to keep
> on going.
>
> Steve Scherr
> Virginia-DC FLL Referee Advisor
>
> On Thu, Oct 26, 2017 at 3:05 PM, Todd J Lennox <[log in to unmask]>
> wrote:
>
>> Matthew is right on with his responses. Want to discuss though item #2 as
>> I have seen some issues with this one in the past. The referee will pick up
>> the robot if asked.  They will though often not grab it immediately in
>> order to ensure that is the team wants.  They are NOT responsible for
>> anything that happens between the time you ask and they actually pick up
>> the robot. If a scoring criteria indicates it is to be scored based on what
>> appears at end of match the referee can’t give you credit for a condition
>> your robot changed as result of the referee not reacting to your request
>> before the robot changed the condition.
>>
>> If you have a strategy or you know your robot tends to go haywire and
>> therefore expect to ask the referee to pick the robot I recommend you have
>> your technicians let the referee know before the match begins. Have them be
>> specific about where the robot will be when you are likely to want to pick
>> it up.
>>
>> Sent from my iPhone
>>
>> On Oct 26, 2017, at 1:35 PM, Matthew Denyszyn <[log in to unmask]>
>> wrote:
>>
>> 1. There is no penalty if the robot is not in base at the end of the match
>> 2. If the robot is stranded the members can grab it and bring it back to
>> base.  If the can not reach the robot they can ask the referee for help.
>> 3. In Case 2. it would be a touch penalty (-5 points)
>>
>> V/R
>> Matthew Denyszyn
>> FLL Coach
>> FLL Referee
>>
>>
>> On Thu, Oct 26, 2017 at 1:24 PM, Cedric D'Costa <
>> [log in to unmask]> wrote:
>>
>>> Hi Referees, Coaches,
>>>
>>>
>>> Please reply to the 3 questions below. Apologies in advance if I missed
>>> this in the documentation.
>>>
>>>
>>>
>>>    1. Is there a penalty if the robot does not reach base at the end of
>>>    the 2.5 minutes?
>>>
>>>
>>>
>>>        2. If the robot gets stranded, can a team member bring the robot
>>> back to base and
>>>
>>>          continue it's run or does the team member need to request the
>>> referee to do it?
>>>
>>>
>>>        3. What is the penalty in each of these cases, if any.
>>>
>>>
>>> Thank you,
>>> Cedric D'Costa
>>>
>>> Coach: FLL team, Fantastic-5
>>>
>>
> ------------------------------
> To UNSUBSCRIBE or CHANGE your settings, please visit
> https://listserv.jmu.edu/archives/vadcfll-l.html and select "Join or
> leave the list".
> VADCFLL administrative announcements are sent via VADCFLL-ANNOUNCEMENTS-L.
> Visit https://listserv.jmu.edu/archives/vadcfll-announcements-l.html to
> subscribe.

-- To UNSUBSCRIBE or CHANGE your settings, please visit https://listserv.jmu.edu/archives/vadcfll-l.html and select "Join or leave the list".

-- VADCFLL administrative announcements are sent via VADCFLL-ANNOUNCEMENTS-L. Visit https://listserv.jmu.edu/archives/vadcfll-ANNOUNCEMENTS-l.html to subscribe.