Print

Print


Mostly correct--your team cannot bring a Mission Model (or other scoring
item) to Base by rescuing the robot.

If your team Interrupts the Robot
 -- and --
the Robot is Transporting the Broken Pipe (D10)
 -- and --
at the moment that the Robot is Interrupted by the team, the Broken Pipe is
not completely in Base
--then--
the Referee takes the Broken Pipe out of play and it is not available to
score for M01.(R14)

• TRANSPORTED THING
o Completely in Base  -->  Keep it

o NOT completely in Base  -->  Give it to the Ref

Steve Scherr
Virginia-DC Referee Advisor

On Thu, Oct 26, 2017 at 4:23 PM, Dinesh Bhat <[log in to unmask]> wrote:

> I believe that in the above case, you will not be awarded points for
> bringing a model back to base. For e.g. your robot hooks up the broken pipe
> but cannot get back to base.
> Is my understanding correct?
>
> -Dinesh
> On Thu, Oct 26, 2017 at 4:02 PM VA-DC Referee Advisor <[log in to unmask]>
> wrote:
>
>>   Todd has a good comment.  If your team prepares the referee to know if
>> there is something in particular to look for, or some action that they want
>> him or her to take, then they have a better chance of success.
>>
>>   Just as your team wants to engineer your robot to reduce variability,
>> your team can also "engineer" the referee to reduce variability :-)   [at
>> least, that's what I call it!]
>>
>>
>>   R14 (plus Update 1) is the rule on Interrupting the robot.  Remember
>> that the robot may continue doing things after it is brought back to Base,
>> but it needs to meet all the conditions for a Launch (R13) in order to keep
>> on going.
>>
>> Steve Scherr
>> Virginia-DC FLL Referee Advisor
>>
>> On Thu, Oct 26, 2017 at 3:05 PM, Todd J Lennox <[log in to unmask]>
>> wrote:
>>
>>> Matthew is right on with his responses. Want to discuss though item #2
>>> as I have seen some issues with this one in the past. The referee will pick
>>> up the robot if asked.  They will though often not grab it immediately in
>>> order to ensure that is the team wants.  They are NOT responsible for
>>> anything that happens between the time you ask and they actually pick up
>>> the robot. If a scoring criteria indicates it is to be scored based on what
>>> appears at end of match the referee can’t give you credit for a condition
>>> your robot changed as result of the referee not reacting to your request
>>> before the robot changed the condition.
>>>
>>> If you have a strategy or you know your robot tends to go haywire and
>>> therefore expect to ask the referee to pick the robot I recommend you have
>>> your technicians let the referee know before the match begins. Have them be
>>> specific about where the robot will be when you are likely to want to pick
>>> it up.
>>>
>>> Sent from my iPhone
>>>
>>> On Oct 26, 2017, at 1:35 PM, Matthew Denyszyn <
>>> [log in to unmask]> wrote:
>>>
>>> 1. There is no penalty if the robot is not in base at the end of the
>>> match
>>> 2. If the robot is stranded the members can grab it and bring it back to
>>> base.  If the can not reach the robot they can ask the referee for help.
>>> 3. In Case 2. it would be a touch penalty (-5 points)
>>>
>>> V/R
>>> Matthew Denyszyn
>>> FLL Coach
>>> FLL Referee
>>>
>>>
>>> On Thu, Oct 26, 2017 at 1:24 PM, Cedric D'Costa <
>>> [log in to unmask]> wrote:
>>>
>>>> Hi Referees, Coaches,
>>>>
>>>>
>>>> Please reply to the 3 questions below. Apologies in advance if I missed
>>>> this in the documentation.
>>>>
>>>>
>>>>
>>>>    1. Is there a penalty if the robot does not reach base at the end
>>>>    of the 2.5 minutes?
>>>>
>>>>
>>>>
>>>>        2. If the robot gets stranded, can a team member bring the
>>>> robot back to base and
>>>>
>>>>          continue it's run or does the team member need to request the
>>>> referee to do it?
>>>>
>>>>
>>>>        3. What is the penalty in each of these cases, if any.
>>>>
>>>>
>>>> Thank you,
>>>> Cedric D'Costa
>>>>
>>>> Coach: FLL team, Fantastic-5
>>>>
>>>

-- To UNSUBSCRIBE or CHANGE your settings, please visit https://listserv.jmu.edu/archives/vadcfll-l.html and select "Join or leave the list".

-- VADCFLL administrative announcements are sent via VADCFLL-ANNOUNCEMENTS-L. Visit https://listserv.jmu.edu/archives/vadcfll-ANNOUNCEMENTS-l.html to subscribe.