My answers to your questions:
"If something like the tripod or water falls while being delivered by the robot" is what FLL calls "Stranding" for HYDRO DYNAMICS and this topic is addressed as Rule 15. What happens to the item depends on where it comes to rest on the field:
The specific answers to your questions are:
- Can the team member remove it (something like the tripod or water falls) from the table and place it in the side or give it to the referee? If it is completely outside base (see [D07] and [R15]), no. It stays where it came to rest.
- I understand there will be a touch penalty of 5 points. This is an untrue statement. The Interruption Penalty is only if you interrupt the ROBOT when it is not completely inside the Base. Read [D09], [R10] and [R14]. If you (meaning your Technicians, not your autonomous Robot) alter the condition of anything outside Base, we will do our best to put things back in the condition it was before your Technician messed with it (As a rule your Technicians should not touch anything except your Robot outside base at any time). You can always touch your Robot. Your team could get a penalty for Interrupting the Robot depending on where the Robot is and how many previous Interruption Penalties that you already have (See [R10], [R14] and D07]).
- If certain missions are not being attempted for example, the water well or slingshot can they be removed from the base and placed in a bin? Yes, as long as they stay in view of the referee. See the first bullet of [R12]
- Do they need to be placed back on the base within the 2.5 mins? No they do not *need* to be put back. It is appreciated, however. Just please, please, please do not take them from the competition table after your match has ended.