To me, as a referee, the answer to the Foxtronauts question is that the team is *allowed* to pick up the Robot from anywhere on the field, because R10 says so. Teams mostly care about the Interrupting rule, R14: R14 - INTERRUPTING If you INTERRUPT the Robot, you must stop it immediately, *then calmly pick it up for a re-Launch. Here’s what happens to the Robot... – NOT completely in Base: . . . . . . . . . . . . Re-Launch + Penalty So, my advice to teams is, if your Robot is coming back to Base, wait for it to be *completely in* Base if you can. Otherwise, you will get a Penalty. But remember, if you have a chance to complete a Mission, the points for the Mission are worth a lot more than the Penalty points, so don't do nothing if you don't have to. [I don't think that that is a triple negative...] Steve Scherr Virginia-DC FLL Referee Advisor On Tue, Oct 30, 2018 at 8:53 AM Jennifer N Scott < [log in to unmask]> wrote: > Hi there! > > > > Just a quick question on the robot coming back to base ~ we know the the > robot must be fully in base when it launches to complete a mission. But, > coming back, does the robot need to be FULLY back in base for it to be > picked up and prepared for the next mission. We weren’t sure how much of > it (all, main EV3 bot, or all and its current attachments) need to be IN > BASE to then be picked up. > > > > We thought it had to always be fully in, but we would love some clarity. > > > > Thanks so much! > > Jenny Scott > > Co-coach of The Foxtronauts > -- To UNSUBSCRIBE or CHANGE your settings, please visit https://listserv.jmu.edu/archives/vadcfll-l.html and select "Join or leave the list". -- VADCFLL administrative announcements are sent via VADCFLL-ANNOUNCEMENTS-L. Visit https://listserv.jmu.edu/archives/vadcfll-ANNOUNCEMENTS-l.html to subscribe.