To me, as a referee, the answer to the Foxtronauts question is that the team is allowed to pick up the Robot from anywhere on the field, because R10 says so.

Teams mostly care about the Interrupting rule, R14:

R14 - INTERRUPTING If you INTERRUPT the Robot, you must stop it immediately, *then calmly pick it up for a re-Launch. Here’s what happens to the Robot...

NOT completely in Base: . . . . . . . . . . . . Re-Launch + Penalty 

So, my advice to teams is, if your Robot is coming back to Base, wait for it to be completely in Base if you can.  Otherwise, you will get a Penalty.

But remember, if you have a chance to complete a Mission, the points for the Mission are worth a lot more than the Penalty points, so don't do nothing if you don't have to.  [I don't think that that is a triple negative...]

Steve Scherr
Virginia-DC FLL Referee Advisor

On Tue, Oct 30, 2018 at 8:53 AM Jennifer N Scott <[log in to unmask]> wrote:

Hi there!


Just a quick question on the robot coming back to base ~ we know the the robot must be fully in base when it launches to complete a mission.  But, coming back, does the robot need to be FULLY back in base for it to be picked up and prepared for the next mission.  We weren’t sure how much of it (all, main EV3 bot, or all and its current attachments) need to be IN BASE to then be picked up. 


We thought it had to always be fully in, but we would love some clarity.


Thanks so much!

Jenny Scott

Co-coach of The Foxtronauts

To UNSUBSCRIBE or CHANGE your settings, please visit and select "Join or leave the list".
VADCFLL administrative announcements are sent via VADCFLL-ANNOUNCEMENTS-L. Visit to subscribe.