Print

Print


There are lots of good questions here about what the team can do outside of
Base.  Most of the answers start with R10 -- Handling During the Match

There are three main points:
1) Changes the Robot makes outside of Base stay that way
2) The team members may not touch anything outside of Base--except they may
rescue their Robot
3) The team members may not send anything outside of Base by hand, except
by Launching the Robot.

1a.  The team Technicians may rescue the Robot and bring it back to Base to
Relaunch it, or they may ask the Referee to rescue it for them.
1b.  If a piece breaks off the Robot, the team may bring that piece back to
Base, too.  If the piece is designed to detach, then it's a little more
complicated, based on R14 and R15.  Generally speaking, if the Robot is
still in contact with a piece of Equipment that it brought from Base, then
that Equipment goes back to Base with the Robot during a rescue.  If the
Robot left it somewhere on the Field, then it stays where it is.

2a & b.  See R10, bullet 3 and R15,  If the Robot is transporting something
out in the Field and loses contact with it, then those things stay where
they are.  The Robot can drive back out and try to move them, but the team
cannot pick them up to reload them.

Steve Scherr
Virginia-DC FLL Referee Advisor

On Fri, Nov 9, 2018 at 9:59 AM Srini S <
[log in to unmask]> wrote:

> Hello,
>
> Got couple of questions.  I couldn't understand the rules... apologies  in
> advance........
>
> 1. a. if my robot get stuck at a wall and keeps turning at the same spot,
> can my team technician stop the robot and restart it ? or should he request
> the referee to do it?
>
> b. while doing some mission, if it get stuck in  a TIGHT turn , and the
> parts break down, can the technician RETRIEVE the robot and the attachments
> and fix it again. or SHOULD we request the referee to get it ....
>
> 2. While transporting items -  things fall down before the target..
> a. for ex - M01  space travel - supply payload and crew payload... , while
> loading...  if it falls down on the way, -- failure to load, can the
> technician again retrieve it and retry it....
> b. M12 satellite orbits - while transporting satellite  towards the outer
> orbit,, if it doesn't reach the target , can the technician retrieve it
> back , and try it once again.
>
> Thanks in advance.
>
>

-- To UNSUBSCRIBE or CHANGE your settings, please visit https://listserv.jmu.edu/archives/vadcfll-l.html and select "Join or leave the list".

-- VADCFLL administrative announcements are sent via VADCFLL-ANNOUNCEMENTS-L. Visit https://listserv.jmu.edu/archives/vadcfll-ANNOUNCEMENTS-l.html to subscribe.