Print

Print


Teams attempting this mission will want to be sure they have read the rules and updates very carefully. There was another update for the crater mission a couple of days ago:

https://firstinspiresst01.blob.core.windows.net/fll/2019/into-orbit-challenge-updates.pdf

U08–CRATER CROSSING #2
13 November 2018
The “crossing Equipment” is whatever crosses completely east to completely west for points.
Crossing Equipment is the only Equipment that needs to cross.
Any other equipment involved, which might throw or Transport the crossing Equipment, does not need to cross.
Examples:
• If a ball was thrown to score as the crossing Equipment, then only the ball needed to cross. The crossing ball was not part of the Robot, so the Robot didn’t need to cross.
• If the ball was Transported across and dropped, then again, only the ball needed to cross. The crossing ball was not part of the Robot, so the Robot didn’t need to cross. (See Rule D10)
• If a ball was built into the Robot and later removed by hand, then the entire Robot had to cross. The ball was part of the Robot, so the entire Robot needed to cross. (See Rule D04)

The Gate must be flattened by the end of the Match, but how and when that happens doesn’t matter.

For this Mission, Teams and Referees alike clearly need to know the difference between something which is Transported by the Robot and something which is part of the Robot. Rules D10 and D04.
Teams: If you’re unclear about that difference, study it, or your strategy could be risky.
Referees: If You’re unclear about that difference, study it, or you’ll need to over-use Rule GP3


.


On Mon, Nov 12, 2018 at 8:07 PM VA-DC FLL Referee Advisor <[log in to unmask]> wrote:
I send out emails to VA-DC Tournament Directors most weeks talking about things to watch for.

Steve Scherr
Virginia-DC FLL Referee Advisor

On Sun, Nov 11, 2018 at 10:58 PM Jodi Salley <[log in to unmask]> wrote:
We experienced this yesterday too at our tournament.  The head ref in the coaches meeting announced to the coaches, in the update “equipment” meant the robot. It was questioned by coaches but that was the determination, the update meant the whole robot had to cross.  I tried to get the message out to the tournament director today to help other teams competing today because our site had a day 2 tournament this weekend.  Is there a way to make sure all the head refs have the information for next weekend’s competitions?  Is there a way to add an update to the update - to be clear - equipment does not mean robot? Our competition season is over but I’m hoping to help other teams.  Thank you!

-- To UNSUBSCRIBE or CHANGE your settings, please visit https://listserv.jmu.edu/archives/vadcfll-l.html and select "Join or leave the list".

-- VADCFLL administrative announcements are sent via VADCFLL-ANNOUNCEMENTS-L. Visit https://listserv.jmu.edu/archives/vadcfll-ANNOUNCEMENTS-l.html to subscribe.

To UNSUBSCRIBE or CHANGE your settings, please visit https://listserv.jmu.edu/archives/vadcfll-l.html and select "Join or leave the list".
VADCFLL administrative announcements are sent via VADCFLL-ANNOUNCEMENTS-L. Visit https://listserv.jmu.edu/archives/vadcfll-announcements-l.html to subscribe.

To UNSUBSCRIBE or CHANGE your settings, please visit https://listserv.jmu.edu/archives/vadcfll-l.html and select "Join or leave the list".
VADCFLL administrative announcements are sent via VADCFLL-ANNOUNCEMENTS-L. Visit https://listserv.jmu.edu/archives/vadcfll-announcements-l.html to subscribe.