Print

Print


I would like to offer an opinion.

Yes. If you Interrupt the Robot and you are still Transporting the
Equipment, which originated in Base during the most recent Launch, you
should be able to retrieve the Equipment and return it to Base for the next
Re-Launch.
If, however, your robot is no longer touching the Equipment, then it is no
longer transporting it and it is Stranded. Assuming the Stranded Equipment
is fully outside Base, then it stays where it came to rest and you do not
get to retrieve it.

The key to the interpretation is the last sentence of the definition of
Transported:

D10 - TRANSPORTED When a thing (anything) is purposefully/
strategically being
••taken from its place, and/or
••moved to a new place, and/or
••being released in a new place,
it is being “Transported.” The process of being Transported ends when the
thing being transported is no longer in contact with whatever was
transporting it.

Bill

On Mon, Nov 12, 2018 at 12:41 PM Hollytmcmanus <
[log in to unmask]> wrote:

> Hi, We are transporting something to strike the M11-Escape Velocity with
> and then leaving it on the field.
> We read the rules as follows:
>
> After the transported thing is used unsuccessfully on the M11, We can
> interrupt the robot, take the penalty, pick up the "transported thing” and
> keep it to Re-Launch it.
> However, if we Use the "transported thing” and complete the mission
> without re-launching - we must leave it on the field wherever it lies.
>
> The question is really clarifying that as long as we re-launch we can pick
> up the “transported thing” that we ejected to strike the M11 and try again?
> Thank you!
> Team 31382 XX G.I.R.L.S.
>
>
>
>
>
>
> R14 - INTERRUPTING If you INTERRUPT the Robot, you must stop it
> immediately, *then calmly pick it up for a re-Launch. Here’s what happens
> to the Robot and anything it was Transporting, depending on where each was
> at the time:
>
> • ROBOT
> – CompletelyinBase: ........................Re-Launch
>
> – NOT completely in Base: . . . . . . . . . . . . Re-Launch + Penalty
>
> • TRANSPORTED THING WHICH CAME FROM BASE DURING THE MOST RECENT LAUNCH
>
> – Always: ………………………………Keep it
>
> • TRANSPORTED THING WHICH DID NOT COME FROM BASE DURING THE MOST RECENT
> LAUNCH
>
> – CompletelyinBase: ………………………Keep it
>
> – NOT completely in Base: . . . . . . . . . . . . .Give it to the referee
>
> The “PENALTY” is described with the Missions.
> IF YOU DON’T INTEND TO RE-LAUNCH – In this case, you may
>
> shut the Robot down and leave it in place.
>
> R15 - STRANDING If the UNINTERRUPTED Robot loses something it was
> Transporting, that thing must be allowed to come to rest. Once it does,
> here’s what happens to that thing, depending on its rest location:
> • TRANSPORTED THING
>
> – CompletelyinBase: ………………………Keep it
>
>  – Partly in Base: . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .Give it to
> the referee
>
> – Completely outside Base: . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .Leave as
> is
> ------------------------------
> To UNSUBSCRIBE or CHANGE your settings, please visit
> https://listserv.jmu.edu/archives/vadcfll-l.html and select "Join or
> leave the list".
> VADCFLL administrative announcements are sent via VADCFLL-ANNOUNCEMENTS-L.
> Visit https://listserv.jmu.edu/archives/vadcfll-announcements-l.html to
> subscribe.

-- To UNSUBSCRIBE or CHANGE your settings, please visit https://listserv.jmu.edu/archives/vadcfll-l.html and select "Join or leave the list".

-- VADCFLL administrative announcements are sent via VADCFLL-ANNOUNCEMENTS-L. Visit https://listserv.jmu.edu/archives/vadcfll-ANNOUNCEMENTS-l.html to subscribe.