Print

Print


My interpretation is that you should not be allowed to launch or relaunch your robot if "Your Robot and everything in Base it’s about to move or use is arranged by hand as you like, is not all fitting “COMPLETELY IN
BASE” and measuring no taller than 12 inches” (30.5 cm).
" . You would either be stopped from launching by the referee (possible but unlikely) or the missions completed from that particular launch would be not scored (most probable).

You are not meeting the Launching requirements for a "READY SITUATION" provided in R13.

image.png
Have fun! See you this weekend!
Bill

On Thu, Nov 29, 2018 at 12:39 PM Diana McCullough <[log in to unmask]> wrote:
My team has a question about launching a robot that is a bit, but clearly, out of base. 

They have a creative interpretation of the rules and are thinking that the run would still count, but the team would get a touch penalty (as when they touch the button to start their program).

I am thinking that no points would be awarded for that run, and that a knowing violation of a rule goes against the grain of gracious professionalism. 

But I told them I would ask as we could not find anything spelled out in the guidebook other than the rule that states your robot needs to fit in base.

Thanks,
Diana McCullough

-- To UNSUBSCRIBE or CHANGE your settings, please visit https://listserv.jmu.edu/archives/vadcfll-l.html and select "Join or leave the list".

-- VADCFLL administrative announcements are sent via VADCFLL-ANNOUNCEMENTS-L. Visit https://listserv.jmu.edu/archives/vadcfll-ANNOUNCEMENTS-l.html to subscribe.

To UNSUBSCRIBE or CHANGE your settings, please visit https://listserv.jmu.edu/archives/vadcfll-l.html and select "Join or leave the list".
VADCFLL administrative announcements are sent via VADCFLL-ANNOUNCEMENTS-L. Visit https://listserv.jmu.edu/archives/vadcfll-announcements-l.html to subscribe.