VADCFLL-L Archives

October 2014

VADCFLL-L@LISTSERV.JMU.EDU

Options: Use Monospaced Font
Show HTML Part by Default
Condense Mail Headers

Message: [<< First] [< Prev] [Next >] [Last >>]
Topic: [<< First] [< Prev] [Next >] [Last >>]
Author: [<< First] [< Prev] [Next >] [Last >>]

Print Reply
Sender:
First Lego League in Virginia and DC <[log in to unmask]>
Date:
Tue, 28 Oct 2014 11:03:40 -0400
Reply-To:
VA-DC Referee Advisor <[log in to unmask]>
Subject:
From:
VA-DC Referee Advisor <[log in to unmask]>
Content-Type:
multipart/alternative; boundary="089e0160c8d6e1845a05067cf3ab"
In-Reply-To:
MIME-Version:
1.0
Comments:
To: Parvathy Krishnan <[log in to unmask]>
Parts/Attachments:
text/plain (2138 bytes) , text/html (3792 bytes)
This is an incorrect understanding of Rule 48.

Rule 48 has 3 conditions:
1) using eyes as a scanner
and
2) if a robot touch is timed to occur in a (small) strategically precise
time period
and
3) if touching in the time window causes a scoring condition to occur
and/or not be destroyed

then --if all three are true-- plus, they are obviously true to the
referee, then that mission is marked scoreless.

In the discussion of the Search Engine, there's no strategically precise
time window, nor a robot touch necessarily involved, so Rule 48 is not
relevant.

Steve Scherr
VA-DC FLL Referee Advisor

On Tue, Oct 28, 2014 at 10:51 AM, Parvathy Krishnan <[log in to unmask]>
wrote:

> Thanks. Rule 48 says that if you use your eyes as a scanner, the mission
> becomes unscorable.
> Yes, using a sensor is going to be difficult, but since this part of the
> mission is worth 45 points, I am leaning towards having to use a sensor.
> Thoughts?
>
>
> Sent from my iPhone
>
> On Oct 28, 2014, at 9:03 AM, Sonya Shaver <[log in to unmask]> wrote:
>
> To add to your first question, also read Rule 44:
>
> "44 - Cargo Penalty - Any time you touch the robot, no matter where it is,
> if it has cargo OUTSIDE BASE
> it didn’t have during the most recent start, the referee takes that cargo
> out of play."
>
>
>
> Sonya
>
>
> On Tue, Oct 28, 2014 at 8:21 AM, Parvathy Krishnan <[log in to unmask]>
> wrote:
>
>> Hi,
>> Between two robot runs, does the robot need to be completely inside the
>> base before the players can pick it up for re-positioning?
>>
>>
> ------------------------------
> To UNSUBSCRIBE or CHANGE your settings, please visit
> https://listserv.jmu.edu/archives/vadcfll-l.html and select "Join or
> leave the list".
> VADCFLL administrative announcements are sent via VADCFLL-ANNOUNCEMENTS-L.
> Visit https://listserv.jmu.edu/archives/vadcfll-announcements-l.html to
> subscribe.
>

-- To UNSUBSCRIBE or CHANGE your settings, please visit https://listserv.jmu.edu/archives/vadcfll-l.html and select "Join or leave the list".

-- VADCFLL administrative announcements are sent via VADCFLL-ANNOUNCEMENTS-L. Visit https://listserv.jmu.edu/archives/vadcfll-ANNOUNCEMENTS-l.html to subscribe.


ATOM RSS1 RSS2