VADCFLL-L Archives

September 2018

VADCFLL-L@LISTSERV.JMU.EDU

Options: Use Monospaced Font
Show HTML Part by Default
Show All Mail Headers

Message: [<< First] [< Prev] [Next >] [Last >>]
Topic: [<< First] [< Prev] [Next >] [Last >>]
Author: [<< First] [< Prev] [Next >] [Last >>]

Print Reply
Subject:
From:
Manish Jain <[log in to unmask]>
Reply To:
Manish Jain <[log in to unmask]>
Date:
Tue, 18 Sep 2018 19:18:43 -0400
Content-Type:
multipart/alternative
Parts/Attachments:
text/plain (2591 bytes) , text/html (6 kB)
Hello all,

A follow up question to M04: does the entire robot has to cross the crater
or a weight bearing arm can cross the tower and then come back with the
robot? It was not clear.

Thanks


On Tue, Sep 11, 2018, 9:00 PM VA-DC FLL Referee Advisor <[log in to unmask]>
wrote:

> Once your team has successfully completed a crossing for M04, then your
> Robot or other agent/craft may move anywhere else on the Field.
>
> How can you be sure?
>
> There are several "Scoring Requirement Signals" listed at the beginning of
> the Missions.
> M04 has two conditions marked with an asterisk (*) and in *GREEN*
>
>
>    - Methods with an asterisk “✱” must be the ONLY ones used, and must be OBSERVED
>    by the referee
>    - Within the Mission descriptions, specific scoring requirements are
>    written in GREEN.
>
> and no conditions *underlined*
>
>
>    - *Underlined RESULTS/CONDITIONS* must be visible at the END of the
>    match
>
> So, in order to score for M04 there are some METHODS that your team needs
> to use, but there's nothing that the referee has to look for at the end of
> the Match.  So, once you've achieved M04 using the allowed methods, the
> mission will be scored as complete, no matter where the Robot or other
> Equipment ends up.
>
> Steve Scherr
> Virginia-DC FLL Referee Advisor
>
>
> On Tue, Sep 11, 2018 at 8:39 PM Sreeram Venkataraman <[log in to unmask]>
> wrote:
>
>> Hello all,
>>
>>  Our team had a question on M04- Crater crossing.
>>
>> The mission says,
>>
>>
>>
>>    - All weight-bearing features of the crossing equipment must cross
>>       -  completely between the towers.
>>    - Crossing must be from east to west and make it completely past the
>>    flattened Gate.
>>
>>
>> My question whatever attachment we use "could be a weight-bearing" or
>> something else to flatten the Gate, after it crosses the towers , does it
>> need to stay on the other side, or can it come back along with the robot.
>>
>>
>> Thanks
>>
>> LightningBotz Team
>>
> ------------------------------
> To UNSUBSCRIBE or CHANGE your settings, please visit
> https://listserv.jmu.edu/archives/vadcfll-l.html and select "Join or
> leave the list".
> VADCFLL administrative announcements are sent via VADCFLL-ANNOUNCEMENTS-L.
> Visit https://listserv.jmu.edu/archives/vadcfll-announcements-l.html to
> subscribe.

-- To UNSUBSCRIBE or CHANGE your settings, please visit https://listserv.jmu.edu/archives/vadcfll-l.html and select "Join or leave the list".

-- VADCFLL administrative announcements are sent via VADCFLL-ANNOUNCEMENTS-L. Visit https://listserv.jmu.edu/archives/vadcfll-ANNOUNCEMENTS-l.html to subscribe.


ATOM RSS1 RSS2