VADCFLL-L Archives

First Lego League in Virginia and DC


Options: Use Forum View

Use Monospaced Font
Show Text Part by Default
Show All Mail Headers

Message: [<< First] [< Prev] [Next >] [Last >>]
Topic: [<< First] [< Prev] [Next >] [Last >>]
Author: [<< First] [< Prev] [Next >] [Last >>]

Print Reply
VA/DC Referee Advisor <[log in to unmask]>
Reply To:
VA/DC Referee Advisor <[log in to unmask]>
Tue, 27 Sep 2011 11:53:54 -0400
text/plain (60 lines)
No, mission models (or other cargo) may not be pulled into Base by
hand just because the robot crosses into Base.

Rule 18, bullet 2, says that cargo that is entirely out of Base is
taken away by the referee after a touch.
Rule 21, bullet 5, says that the cargo item and the robot are ruled on
independent of each other.

There is an update to Update 18, that defines what we mean by the robot:
The "robot" is the controller and anything joined with it in any way
by hand which is designed not to separate from it except by hand.

So, no mission model is ever an attachment or part of the robot,
because the team may not join the robot and a mission model by hand.
(Rule 10, bullets 3 and 4)

P.S.  Yesterday's clarification that the definition in Update 18
applies for the whole Robot Game was needed, so we could be sure that
the obvious answer to Stuart's question was correct.

Steve Scherr
VA/DC FLL Referee Advisor

On Tue, Sep 27, 2011 at 11:26 AM, Stuart & Lori Roll <[log in to unmask]> wrote:
> Steve -
> I’d guess that the intent is that Mission Models can never be “attachments”
> (R10) so part of the truck would have to cross into base, but there may be
> an opportunity to clarify the rules for a certain specific situation.  The
> robot is permitted (R10) to capture, on its own, a mission module in such a
> way as to violate the “gravity test”.  It is unclear whether the mission
> model becomes an “attachment” at that point (at least from a colloquial
> view).  Have I missed an applicable rule again or is this just one of those
> areas that needs clarification?
> Stuart
> From: Viquar Shaikh
> Sent: Tuesday, September 27, 2011 9:52 AM
> To: [log in to unmask]
> Subject: Re: [VADCFLL-L] Items in base
> Hi Stephen
> What about the robot pulling the farm truck or refrigerated truck. In this
> scenario, the robot is pulling these objects and crosses in to base - can
> the team then hold the robot which is in base and pull the truck or trailer,
> which is 'attached' to the robot, in to base and then pick up the truck or
> trailer??
> Thanks
> Viquar
> Team #1371

-- To UNSUBSCRIBE or CHANGE your settings, please visit and select "Join or leave the list".

-- VADCFLL administrative announcements are sent via VADCFLL-ANNOUNCEMENTS-L. Visit to subscribe.