VADCFLL-L Archives

October 2017


Options: Use Monospaced Font
Show HTML Part by Default
Show All Mail Headers

Message: [<< First] [< Prev] [Next >] [Last >>]
Topic: [<< First] [< Prev] [Next >] [Last >>]
Author: [<< First] [< Prev] [Next >] [Last >>]

Print Reply
VA-DC Referee Advisor <[log in to unmask]>
Reply To:
VA-DC Referee Advisor <[log in to unmask]>
Fri, 6 Oct 2017 14:23:42 -0400
text/plain (2178 bytes) , text/html (3856 bytes)
Team Botlava,
  Yes, your team may arrange things that are completely in Base by hand.
(R10 and R13)

  Please note that the Field Setup says that the SlingShot at your
tournament table should already be loaded when you get to the table, but
you can change that while you are there.

SLINGSHOT (Water Purifier): Install a Rain and the Dirty Water into the
Slingshot, and close its black bar to keep the yellow plunger up. Waters
must be flat-side down. Rain or Dirty Water can be installed in either side

Steve Scherr
Virginia-DC FLL Referee Advisor

On Fri, Oct 6, 2017 at 12:04 PM, Elena Ziu <[log in to unmask]> wrote:

> Can the water be loaded in base manually?
> Thank you,
> Team Botlava
> Fairfax
> On Oct 6, 2017, at 9:33 AM, VA-DC Referee Advisor <[log in to unmask]> wrote:
> The Raining Robots ask an excellent question about delivering the
> SlingShot.
> The answer to the question is No--the SlingShot would not receive points
> for M17 if delivered as in the photo.
> Why?  We are looking to see if the SlingShot is "completely in its
> target."  It looks like it is over the black target area, except that part
> of the yellow button is over the gray barrier instead.
> What is the correct ruling?  It turns out that the answer is in the Field
> Setup document.  Here's what it says in the Simple Setups portion:
> SLINGSHOT TARGET: Extends to the east wall. Does not include the barrier.
> So everything about this delivery would be okay, except that the SlingShot
> sticks out too far to the west (toward Base), and is not completely in.
> Steve Scherr
> Virginia-DC FLL Referee Advisor
> On Fri, Oct 6, 2017 at 9:05 AM, Rajesh Shah <[log in to unmask]>
> wrote:
>> My team has question about Sling Shot Mission.
>> If the Sling Shot is delivered as shown in the attached image below, will
>> that be considered valid.
>> Rajesh Shah
>> Coach -  Raining Robots (Team #31778)

-- To UNSUBSCRIBE or CHANGE your settings, please visit and select "Join or leave the list".

-- VADCFLL administrative announcements are sent via VADCFLL-ANNOUNCEMENTS-L. Visit to subscribe.