VADCFLL-L Archives

November 2016

VADCFLL-L@LISTSERV.JMU.EDU

Options: Use Proportional Font
Show HTML Part by Default
Show All Mail Headers

Message: [<< First] [< Prev] [Next >] [Last >>]
Topic: [<< First] [< Prev] [Next >] [Last >>]
Author: [<< First] [< Prev] [Next >] [Last >>]

Print Reply
Subject:
From:
Brittany Rose <[log in to unmask]>
Reply To:
Brittany Rose <[log in to unmask]>
Date:
Tue, 22 Nov 2016 18:01:50 -0500
Content-Type:
multipart/alternative
Parts/Attachments:
text/plain (3059 bytes) , text/html (4 kB)
Dear Mr. Scherr,

Hi - I am part of the Extravaganza Girls FLL team and I am wondering if the method described below will be allowed at the championship tournament.

Thank you,
Abbey Baham

Sent from my email address as my team members are not signed up for the listserv :)

> On Nov 21, 2016, at 11:06 AM, Rockledge Robotics <[log in to unmask]> wrote:
> 
> Tim that is an interesting question.  Looking back at the rules it does not define what the floor of the tank is.  Looking at the vagueness of the instruction the bottom of tank can still be the floor. It is just an interesting way to read the rules.  I know that Head Ref (Steve Scherr) at the Osborn Park Tournament Address this directly with the field judges and still said that it counted.
> 
> V/R
> Matthew
> Rockledge Robotics
> Electro Eagle Green Team 25187
> Electro Eagle Gold Team 25188
> Electro Eagle Black Team 25189
> 
> On Mon, Nov 21, 2016 at 10:53 AM, Tim <[log in to unmask] <mailto:[log in to unmask]>> wrote:
> Hello all,
> 
> I have a quick question regarding the shark-transport mission. At my team's regional tournament, I noticed a lot of team have a set up like this:
> - The shark is taken out of the shark tank
> - The tank is then turned upside down
> - The shark is place on its side (not standing), "on" the bottom of the tank (since the tank was turned upside down, the bottom is now the top)
> 
> Now with that set up, they can easily push the shark tank to the target location and still satisfies the requirements:
> - Shark and tank are completely in Target
> - Shark touching only the tank floor (NOT wall)
> - Nothing touched the Shark except the tank
> 
> Is this method allowed? I would like to know since I am preparing my team for the Championship event. To be honest, I feel like this is cheating but the ref. did not say anything to teams that did this.
> 
> Best,
> Tim
> 
> -- To UNSUBSCRIBE or CHANGE your settings, please visit https://listserv.jmu.edu/archives/vadcfll-l.html <https://listserv.jmu.edu/archives/vadcfll-l.html> and select "Join or leave the list".
> 
> -- VADCFLL administrative announcements are sent via VADCFLL-ANNOUNCEMENTS-L. Visit https://listserv.jmu.edu/archives/vadcfll-ANNOUNCEMENTS-l.html <https://listserv.jmu.edu/archives/vadcfll-ANNOUNCEMENTS-l.html> to subscribe.
> 
> To UNSUBSCRIBE or CHANGE your settings, please visit https://listserv.jmu.edu/archives/vadcfll-l.html <https://listserv.jmu.edu/archives/vadcfll-l.html> and select "Join or leave the list". 
> VADCFLL administrative announcements are sent via VADCFLL-ANNOUNCEMENTS-L. Visit https://listserv.jmu.edu/archives/vadcfll-announcements-l.html <https://listserv.jmu.edu/archives/vadcfll-announcements-l.html> to subscribe.


-- To UNSUBSCRIBE or CHANGE your settings, please visit https://listserv.jmu.edu/archives/vadcfll-l.html and select "Join or leave the list".

-- VADCFLL administrative announcements are sent via VADCFLL-ANNOUNCEMENTS-L. Visit https://listserv.jmu.edu/archives/vadcfll-ANNOUNCEMENTS-l.html to subscribe.


ATOM RSS1 RSS2