VADCFLL-L Archives

First Lego League in Virginia and DC


Options: Use Classic View

Use Monospaced Font
Show Text Part by Default
Show All Mail Headers

Topic: [<< First] [< Prev] [Next >] [Last >>]

Print Reply
VA/DC Referee Advisor <[log in to unmask]>
Sun, 28 Oct 2012 22:33:09 -0400
text/plain (34 lines)
The definition of Base includes the "perimeter of the Base area", so,
yes, the black line bordering Base is part of Base.

Steve Scherr
VA/DC FLL Referee Advisor

On Sun, Oct 28, 2012 at 10:08 PM, Darlene Pantaleo <[log in to unmask]> wrote:
> 8 – BASE
> • Base is an imaginary box formed by vertical walls that rise from the
> perimeter of the Base area, including the inside surface of the border
> walls, and by an invisible ceiling 16” (406mm) high.
> • This means Base is not just an area on the mat – it’s a VOLUME.
> • Usually there is a gap between the mat and a side border wall… Base
> includes this gap.
> • Anything even barely in Base counts as being in Base unless the robot
> moves it completely out.
> • Anything in the team’s possession is understood to count as being in Base,
> and is okay to store or handle.
> On Oct 28, 2012, at 8:24 PM, Rajesh Shah wrote:
> One last minute question.
> Is the border area around the base is considered part of the base ?
> Thanks
> Rajesh
> ________________________________

-- To UNSUBSCRIBE or CHANGE your settings, please visit and select "Join or leave the list".

-- VADCFLL administrative announcements are sent via VADCFLL-ANNOUNCEMENTS-L. Visit to subscribe.