VADCFLL-L Archives

October 2013

VADCFLL-L@LISTSERV.JMU.EDU

Options: Use Monospaced Font
Show HTML Part by Default
Show All Mail Headers

Message: [<< First] [< Prev] [Next >] [Last >>]
Topic: [<< First] [< Prev] [Next >] [Last >>]
Author: [<< First] [< Prev] [Next >] [Last >>]

Print Reply
Subject:
From:
VA/DC Referee Advisor <[log in to unmask]>
Reply To:
VA/DC Referee Advisor <[log in to unmask]>
Date:
Tue, 15 Oct 2013 23:16:51 -0400
Content-Type:
multipart/alternative
Parts/Attachments:
text/plain (3035 bytes) , text/html (8 kB)
No, the only time there can be a touch penalty on the robot is when the
robot is completely outside Base (Rule 31, bullet 1).  If the tiniest bit
of the robot is in Base, then the robot may be touched without a touch
penalty on the robot (see Rule 37 for the FLL definition of "in").

[Also please check Exception 1 to Rule 31--you cannot "tether" the robot to
Base to avoid a penalty]

But--if the robot is carrying Cargo items that it picked up outside Base,
then those items need to cross into Base at the time of the touch or
there's a penalty on the items--they are taken off the field by the referee
(Rule 31, bullet 2)

Steve Scherr
VA/DC FLL Referee Advisor

On Tue, Oct 15, 2013 at 10:55 PM, Sravanthi Davuluri <
[log in to unmask]> wrote:

>
> Question from a rookie coach:
>
> When the robot returns to Base between missions, does it need to be
> 'completely' in Base? Is there a penalty if a part of it is outside of Base?
>
> Thank you!
>
> Sravanthi
>
>
>
> On Oct 15, 2013, at 10:31 PM, Jill Hamilton <[log in to unmask]>
> wrote:
>
>  Dale, you can pick up the robot and carry it back to the base at any
> time, but you will receive a touch penalty (rule 31).  This will cost you
> points in the end and can sometime be a strategy.  You could also design
> your missions in sequence so that your robot never returns to base.  This
> is generally harder for a beginner team, but it does save time and can
> garner more points. You can always touch the robot in base without penalty.
> ****
>
> ** **
>
> Best wishes.****
>
> Jill Hamilton****
>
> Coach of the Mechanical Manatees #9570****
>
> Coach of the Electric Pineapples in years past****
>
> ** **
>
> *<image001.png>*
>
> *Jill Hamilton, President*
>
> Sustainable Energy Strategies, Inc.****
>
> 4803 Marymead Drive****
>
> Fairfax, VA 22030****
>
> 703-322-4484 office****
>
> 703-322-4483 fax****
>
> 703-980-7374 mobile****
>
> ** **
>
> *From:* First Lego League in Virginia and DC [
> mailto:[log in to unmask] <[log in to unmask]>] *On
> Behalf Of *Dale Glass
> *Sent:* Tuesday, October 15, 2013 10:11 PM
> *To:* [log in to unmask]
> *Subject:* [VADCFLL-L] Robot return to base?****
>
> ** **
>
> We're a complete rookie team here !  I've read the rules, but don't quite
> understand. ****
>
> ** **
>
> Does the robot have to drive itself back to base to be reset for the next
> mission or can it stop in the field and be carried (by hand) back to base?
> ****
>
> ** **
>
> Thanks so much for everyone's help - reading all the questions and answers
> is inspiring!****
>
> ** **
>
> -Dale****
>
> ** **
>
>
> Dale S. Glass, MS, MSSE
> Science Coordinator
> NOAA Climate Steward
>
> National Presbyterian School
> 4121 Nebraska Ave, NW
> Washington, DC 20016
> [log in to unmask]****
>    ------------------------------
>
>

-- To UNSUBSCRIBE or CHANGE your settings, please visit https://listserv.jmu.edu/archives/vadcfll-l.html and select "Join or leave the list".

-- VADCFLL administrative announcements are sent via VADCFLL-ANNOUNCEMENTS-L. Visit https://listserv.jmu.edu/archives/vadcfll-ANNOUNCEMENTS-l.html to subscribe.


ATOM RSS1 RSS2