VADCFLL-L Archives

First Lego League in Virginia and DC


Options: Use Classic View

Use Monospaced Font
Show Text Part by Default
Condense Mail Headers

Topic: [<< First] [< Prev] [Next >] [Last >>]

Print Reply
Sender: First Lego League in Virginia and DC <[log in to unmask]>
Date: Wed, 2 Nov 2011 06:31:49 -0400
Reply-To: VA/DC Referee Advisor <[log in to unmask]>
MIME-Version: 1.0
Content-Transfer-Encoding: 8bit
In-Reply-To: <[log in to unmask]>
Content-Type: text/plain; charset="ISO-8859-1"
From: VA/DC Referee Advisor <[log in to unmask]>
Parts/Attachments: text/plain (29 lines)
Keying off two parts of this description, I would assume that the
referee would NOT call the rat in Base:

(a) it "never really enters base"
(b) it is "hanging over the south wall"

  Base is a volume that extends to the inside surface of the border
walls (Rule 8), so items that are entirely over the wall or outside
the wall would not be considered in Base.

  The first phrase indicates that the rat never even passed through
Base, so there isn't much room for benefit of the doubt that the team
was just slightly late in touching the robot.

Steve Scherr
VA/DC FLL Referee Advisor

On Wed, Nov 2, 2011 at 6:00 AM, Michael Brown <[log in to unmask]> wrote:
> Our team is going for both rats, the attachments just bearly fit in base.
> On the return trip the far rat never really enters base it is hanging over
> the south wall. I am assuming that a ref would call that in,  but wanted a
> ruling just in case I was wrong.
> Mike

-- To UNSUBSCRIBE or CHANGE your settings, please visit and select "Join or leave the list".

-- VADCFLL administrative announcements are sent via VADCFLL-ANNOUNCEMENTS-L. Visit to subscribe.