VADCFLL-L Archives

First Lego League in Virginia and DC


Options: Use Classic View

Use Monospaced Font
Show HTML Part by Default
Show All Mail Headers

Topic: [<< First] [< Prev] [Next >] [Last >>]

Print Reply
VA-DC Referee Advisor <[log in to unmask]>
Thu, 8 Oct 2015 09:08:06 -0400
text/plain (3850 bytes) , text/html (9 kB)
Good questions--your team is showing good understanding of the rules of the
Robot Game.  You'll see a theme below; don't forget that Rule GP5 #2 says
that the Field Setup instructions are just as important as the Missions in
describing the game.


1. Can the Robot touch the walls of the board?

2. Lets say Robot went on a route to perform a mission, can we pick it up
and bring it back to the base after the mission is complete rather than
letting it  come back by itself. We do understand there will be a penalty,
but can we do that even if we get a penalty? How many penalties can a team
get? Is there  a number after which you are disqualified?
REF-yes.  Interrupting and bringing the robot back to base is allowable.
The Referee has four penalty blocks which can be assessed (see Field
Setup), so that is the maximum number.  (Also see the Penalties paragraph
in the Missions:  "not to exceed four penalties.")  The rules do not
provide for disqualification.


1. In the sorting mission, we start with 2 blue and  2 black blocks that
are already placed and then you can add more through your robot. Is that
correct assumption? If you don't add then you only sort the four blocks.

2. The bins for the sorting mission will already be on the mat. We don't
have to move them from safety and then do the sorting?
REF-yes.  See Field Setup

3. For the Using recycled material mission, does the Robot need to pick up
the bin from the mat and then place it on the wall for the other team to
pick up or we will have an extra bin in safety to use?
REF-there is no bin that starts in Safety.  See Field Setup.  The Robot
needs to use the green bins from the sorter.

4. If the other team has placed the bin for us to pick up in recycled
material mission, is it ok if we don't pick it up or we have to pick up if
they place the bin? What will happen if we don't pick up in case we have to
pick up?
REF-it's okay not to do things.  The FLL Robot Game is all about making
choices about what to do, how to do it, and when to do it.

Project Judging and Core Values

1. If a team member is asked to answer a question and if they cannot
answer, can another team member answer for them or the judges will move on
to the next team member with a different question? Is there a penalty for
not answering the question?
REF-the judging process looks at the team's judging session as a whole.
Some team members have more expertise in one area of the Challenge than
others, but we hope that each can talk in general about the whole team
activity.  Judging is not like an exam where you have "graded"
questions--you don't get "points" for answering questions, or necessarily
go one-by-one answering questions.  What happens after a non-response
depends on the situation and the judges, and what additional information
they want to ask about.

Steve Scherk
Virginia-DC FLL Referee Advisor

On Thu, Oct 8, 2015 at 8:36 AM, Saritha Mankala <
[log in to unmask]> wrote:

> All,
> We are a rookie team participating for the first time. Have some questions
> about penalties and what can be done and what cannot be done. Thank you so
> much for your time in advance. Can you all please help us by answer our
> questions.
> Thanks,
> Saritha
> ------------------------------
> To UNSUBSCRIBE or CHANGE your settings, please visit
> and select "Join or
> leave the list".
> VADCFLL administrative announcements are sent via VADCFLL-ANNOUNCEMENTS-L.
> Visit to
> subscribe.

-- To UNSUBSCRIBE or CHANGE your settings, please visit and select "Join or leave the list".

-- VADCFLL administrative announcements are sent via VADCFLL-ANNOUNCEMENTS-L. Visit to subscribe.