Sat, 22 Oct 2011 12:44:49 -0400
text/plain; format=flowed; charset="iso-8859-1";
Rule 26 states:
26 - OKAY TO SHIFT BALLS AND RINGS
Rules 14 and 19 redundantly say objects can't be moved out of the robot's
way by hand. But here's an exception: If there's a [ball on the mat] in
the robot's way, or a [ring with no ball] in the robot's way, it can be
shifted out of the robot's way. You should ask the referee to shift these
objects, but if there's no way for the ref to get there in time, you may do
it yourself. Neither the movement nor the new location of these objects is
allowed to be a part of any strategy other than simply clearing the robot's
The team has asked me to get a couple clarifications. They intend to knock
the ball onto the mat. If the ball and ring is not directly in the robot's
way at that point-in-time, can they still ask the ref to move it or do they
have to wait until it may be in the robot's way? Second, if they do not
have to wait to ask the ref to move the ball, can they discuss the ball
removal ahead of time, with the ref so that the ref aware of their
intentions and will be able to move the ball? Part of rule 26 states
"Neither the movement nor the new location of these objects is allowed to be
a part of any strategy other than simply clearing the robot's path.", can
the team at the table ask that the ball be moved to a specific place (i.e.
over with the crazy chicken) so that there is no chance of an issue further
on in the match?
Coach, The Crestwood Monarchs
-- To UNSUBSCRIBE or CHANGE your settings, please visit https://listserv.jmu.edu/archives/vadcfll-l.html and select "Join or leave the list".
-- VADCFLL administrative announcements are sent via VADCFLL-ANNOUNCEMENTS-L. Visit https://listserv.jmu.edu/archives/vadcfll-ANNOUNCEMENTS-l.html to subscribe.