VADCFLL-L Archives

First Lego League in Virginia and DC


Options: Use Classic View

Use Monospaced Font
Show HTML Part by Default
Show All Mail Headers

Topic: [<< First] [< Prev] [Next >] [Last >>]

Print Reply
VA-DC FLL Referee Advisor <[log in to unmask]>
Tue, 17 Sep 2019 21:50:05 -0400
text/plain (3255 bytes) , text/html (9 kB)
The Return of the Jedi Penguins team has a couple of questions.

First, to answer their concern about the Robot coming back to them at the
end of a run, their question is whether having the Robot stop when it
touches the West wall in the Home area is a problem.  Here's where they can
find information about that:

   - 10. PRECISION TOKEN – These are six red discs on the Field, already
   worth points when the Match starts. Interrupting the Robot before it gets
   Completely Into Home causes the Referee to take them away.

   27. INTERRUPTION PROCEDURE – If you Interrupt the Robot, stop it
   instantly, then calmly pick it up for the n
   *ext Launch.*

Where was the Robot Interrupted?

➔ Completely in Home: No problem.

➔ Not Completely *i*n Home: Lose a Precision Token.

   - 28/RG05. INTERRUPTION WITH CARGO – If the Robot has Cargo when

..... Where was the Cargo at Interruption?

➔ Completely in Home:  Keep it

➔ Not Completely in Home: If it didn't come with the Robot at the last
Launch, the Referee takes it out of play

What is the bottom line?  There is no significant benefit to the team from
grabbing the Robot when it returns to the Launch Area.

Return of the Jedi Penguins are also curious about what they can do with
the Building Units.

   - From Rule 21, we know that if you launch the Robot with Building
   Units, then everything has to fit into the Launch Area, and fit inside a 12
   inch ceiling.
   - From Rule 35, we know that only the end-of-Match condition of the
   Field is evaluated for scoring
   - So, as long as a collection of Building Units is okay when it
   Launches, and forms a scoring Stack when the Match is over, the team has a
   lot of flexibility in how they approach the Mission.

  This same pattern holds true for all the Missions.  As long as the Robot
and its Cargo Launch according to the Rules, and things end up in scoring
position when the end-of-Match signal goes off, then it's up to the team
how they get to their planned end state.

Steve Scherr
Virginia-DC FLL Referee Advisor

On Tue, Sep 17, 2019 at 9:02 PM Kathleen Olowin <[log in to unmask]> wrote:

> My team has a question about the units used in the Mission 12's design
> and build. Can the units be stacked together prior to transport from
> base, or do they need to be individually stacked once in the circles?
> Also, we have a question regarding the "home" area at the end of the
> launch grid. If a robot goes past the launch area into the home space
> when returning to base, does the team get a penalty? We understand that
> no part of the robot can be in this home area when launching a mission,
> but since the wall is farther away from the edge of the mat than in
> previous years when they have used a touch sensor to stop the robot in
> the base, they are concerned what happens if the robot should leave the
> launch area upon return.
> Thanks,
> Kathleen
> Coach, The Return of the Jedi Penguins

-- To UNSUBSCRIBE or CHANGE your settings, please visit and select "Join or leave the list".

-- VADCFLL administrative announcements are sent via VADCFLL-ANNOUNCEMENTS-L. Visit to subscribe.